Steve to humans: “I’m not just a piece of meat!”

My name is Steve. This is a diary account of the last four hours of my life.
Like Madonna or Cher, I don’t have a last name. I don’t need one. It’s not that I’m self-absorbed. I’m just your average North American lobster (who happens to be in the best physical shape of my life). I’m talking top quartile. I recently won the 2011 Strongclaw contest. I’ve seen things you couldn’t even fathom. A battle to the death between a 50 pound octopus and one very predatory sea anemone who lives on the rough side of the mid-ocean ridge. The sinking of Titantic. Yeah. Boom.

Most see me as a cold-blooded king of the sea, not so unlike Triton. But if you knew me, you’d know one of my favorite things to do on a Friday night is simply kick back with a tub of buttery phytoplankton and watch Hillbilly Handfishin’. Man, that Skipper Bivins is a livewire.

Some would say I’m disgruntled. Others, a little “off.” Truth be told, I’m like any one of you. We’ve all seen the movie, The Little Mermaid (Yes, she’s even hotter in real life, and yes, that Sebastian guy is a huge douche). At one time or another, we’ve wished to be something we never thought we could, whether it be a human, a star baseball player or even an amazing superhero like Aquaman.

I kid, I kid.

But if you were to ask me years ago what I’d be on this day of all days, I never would have thought it’d be a meal. But I’m getting ahead of myself. Shall we begin the picture slideshow? It sure does take me back to simpler times. Back to when life wasn’t so confusing. When I had my innocence. My manhood. My body fully attached. But first things first.

I thought I was going places when I was netted in the deep Canadian inlets of the Atlantic Ocean. Instead, I wound up in Nebraska. Yeah. Cuz when I think fresh seafood, I think Nebraska. It was a kick to the family jewels until Cassie and Clayton came along…

Thursday, Sept. 8

12:15 p.m. This is me with my new friends! They rescued me from my watery jail cell at Hy-Vee. The one on the left there wanted to take Bill, one of the two other lobsters in the tank. She thought he was lively. Rambunctious. Free spirited. Little does she know he’s got ADD and thinks that his own reflection is his girlfriend. “That doesn’t even make sense,” you say? Exactly. This is what I’m dealing with.

Anyway, the one on the right told her that I wouldn’t struggle as much and had accepted my fate (something called “death”?), which was good because it’s about to come early. I don’t know what exactly they’re talking about, but anyway, then they told me they were taking me on a vacation! I mustn’t forget to pack my bowtie in case we go somewhere fancy for dinner. I heard something about seafood!

12:18 p.m. Look at me, like a kid posing on his first day of school. Dressed to impress, and with matching yellow rubber bands, no less! Well, Hy-Vee actually put those on me. I tend to pinch when I get nervous. Get a bit crabby, you know. Heh heh. Just a little crustacean humor for you. 


12:19 p.m. We took a detour through Hy-Vee to look for some sushi. What’s sushi? Also, do they realize I can’t breathe out of water? I’m beginning to think my new “friends” are “special.” They talked about putting me on ice. I’m not stupid, I’ve seen Happy Feet. If they want me to dance, they’re going to have to pay for it!

12:24 p.m. I’m being purchased. From the sounds of it, not too many of us get bought from Hy-Vee. Cassie and Clayton told the cashier that they have BIG plans for me when we get home. I hope it’s presents for me!!!

12:45 p.m. Losing consciousness. The ice is numbing my entire body and making it hard to think. I groggily recall being placed in a plastic sack in the back seat. I get my own back seat floor. Yeah, baby – riding in style! Try not to be too jealous…zzzz……

2:26 a.m. I awoke to some sort of fuzzy creature sniffing my claws. Exxcuuuse me, privacy much? Cassie called it a cat. Not to be confused with a catfish? Must be one of those land cats.


2:28 a.m. Cassie and Clayton are whispering about something in secret. They keep placing me in various sizes of pots. I must be getting my very own, form-fitting container to lounge comfortably in. Yup, just living the life. This is me doing the superman. Stud muffin, right? I know. You don’t hafta say it. Everybody knows.


2:30 a.m. Cassie switched her camera setting to something called “Party Mode.” I didn’t know they were throwing me a fiesta! My hosts are generous and kind. I just wish they would take a break from hosting to eat a snack or something. I keep hearing their stomachs growl.


2:35 a.m. The secrets out! They’re rubbing me down with all sorts of bath salts in preparation for my very own day at the spa. The hot tub is being prepared, Clayton said. He told me I should try to fit in some sightseeing before the festivities began. To tell you the truth, I kind of always DID want to see what being a human was like for a day.

2:37 a.m. Hillbilly Handfishin’ is on, Hillbilly Handfishin’ in on!!! Oh, this is the one where they catch a huge, 60-pound catfish. The land cat does not appear to be impressed.


2:40 a.m. Just getting my iron on, no big. Thursdays are biceps and delts. Well, jeez – don’t stare too hard at the pipes; you might hurt something.

2:45 a.m. I don’t know how this exercise ball is supposed to work, but I feel quite confident that I’m completely owning this workout.

2:47 a.m. Guess who just discovered the Oral B Advantage? This guy. Check ya later, gingivitis!

2:50 a.m. Cassie compared me to being a lap dog. Who cares, I find this purse comfy and secure. Bonus: OMG!!!! Who knew purple was my color!?

2:55 a.m. If you think I look good now, check back with me 20 minutes from now after my exfoliating sea salt scrub and spa day!

3 a.m. Wait. Guys? GUYS?!?! It’s too hot! It’s too hot!

3:05: a.m. AAAAAAAHHHH, MY EYEBALLS!!! MY PRIDE!!!!!

3:25 a.m. You guys are jerks.

3:30 a.m. Why are you doing this to me!? And for the love of God, what smells so delicious??

3:36 a.m. Well, maybe just a bite.

15 responses to “Steve to humans: “I’m not just a piece of meat!”

  1. Great work! That is the kind of info that should be shared across the web. Shame on the search engines for now not positioning this submit higher! Come on over and visit my site . Thanks =)

    • Gracias! I’d love an expanded audience, but I’m sure if this story did blow up over the Interwebs, PETA would have a field day! So, perhaps I better lay low for awhile…

  2. HAHAHAHAHAHA You are so clever with your posts! I swear. so funny.

  3. Haha, do you think Steve was a Survivor fan, an American Idol fan, or both? My uncle is actually a lobster fisherman in Maine, I spent a lot of time hauling these guys out of traps when I was little.

    • That sounds amazing! I’ve always wanted to go to Maine and gorge myself on all the fresh seafood. Someday!

    • By the way – the answer is neither. Steve was a So You Think You Can Dance fan/Chopped fan in his off-time. Some say that’s the WORST fan. I tend to agree, and that’s why something had to be done. Something of epic Steve portions. 😉

  4. It’s a nice post, though I wouldn’t be so sure about lobsters not feeling pain. Even on the internet, in articles such as this http://straightdope.com/columns/read/2837/do-lobsters-feel-pain-when-boiled-alive, the matter is disputed.

    I didn’t get from the post whether this lobster was alive or not but if it was… maaan it just seems cruel… I know it’s done a lot but I’m against it.

    • He wasn’t alive, but I’m always a bit apprehensive of whether or not they can feel pain, too. I feel bad enough cutting worms in half when I go fishing!

  5. This is, like, heartbreaking. I just hope Steve’s friends don’t see this. If a big car full of lobsters is spotted in Nebraska maybe put on a disguise.

    • Don’t worry, I read somewhere on the Internet that lobsters can’t feel pain, so I’m 100 percent sure that’s true. On the other hand, it’s prolly a good thing I don’t also work at Red Lobster, huh?

  6. I LOVED this! Also, Clayton looks embarassed to be taking a picture with the lobster.

    • Hahaha. It started with a bet and a hopeful, wide-eyed “Can we keep him?!” I didn’t think he’d actually go through with it and buy Steve! Although once I had named him, it made for some difficult attachment issues…

  7. hahahahahahaha!!! So cute!!!

Leave a comment. Or don't; I don't care. ...have...have you left a comment yet?

